Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vodafone.

Huawei Huawei Ascend G300

Average Customer Rating:
4.202 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 128
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (129 reviews)
5 stars
78
4 stars
23
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
8
99 out of 126(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Huawei Ascend G300
Review 1 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Excellent phone
Date:11 December, 2012
By starjo2
from Limerick
Age:25-34
Owned this device for:2 months
Got this phone as I was an iPhone user and felt the money was outrageous for a newer model... This phone does everything I want it to... I downloaded all apps from the Google market that i was using on the iPhone no hassle at all ... Sometimes my Facebook app goes blank but once you refresh its Ok.... Perfect for all i need :)
37 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Fantastic phone
Date:25 December, 2012
By Jake
from Dundalk
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
Great for the price, feels very sturdy, easy to hold and reach buttons (Even with small hands), excellent screen, rather big (Same size as an iPhone 5/S3 Mini/Xperia Play for reference), fantastic colour. Haven't seen much like it. Touchscreen is very sensitive, but not so much so that a light brush will set it off.
Capacitive buttons are fairly good, will need a second press now and again, but otherwise fine. Beautiful stock wallpapers and nice Huawei added ringtones. The skin is pretty good, and brings a change. It feels like a cross between TouchWiz and Sense.
GPU is pretty good, tried a few games with it. GTA 3 plays very smoothly, as does NFS Most Wanted, Minecraft Pocket Edition and World Of Goo.
The LED flash is useful for low light conditions in two ways.
A - The camera, obviously.
B - As a pocket LED flashlight. It does pretty good, luminating up to roughly 3m. Haven't tested it fully.
Camera is so-so, don't expect a fantastic camera. The autofocus looks nice in the viewfinder and on the default zoom in the camera, but zoom in and the lack of detail is quite apparent. But it will do fine for day to day snaps. The shutter is fairly fast, 0.5s or so.
Video recording is alright with the stock, 480p. LGcamcorder can do 720p, but it is quite buggy. It does support 720p, so hopefully an update provides the camera with the required libs/codecs for 720p recording.
The lock screen is quite useful, with four options for unlocking. Right just unlocks it normally, up goes to the call log, left opens the messages, and down opens the camera.
The battery is pretty good, with it lasting about 26h~ on a full charge with medium usage for me (2-3h (nonconsecutive) of games, 2h~ of web browsing, 30m of downloading sizable (20MB+) apps on the Play Store, and about 1h of youtube in HQ mode (720p, i think.)
The charger that came with it is a bit dodgy in my case, as it can be heard giving off white noise while charging. I quickly unplugged it for safety, and instead i now use a samsung travel wall charger or Kindle / stock USB cable. The battery seems to get stuck at 90%, but i'm a bit impatient, so take that whatever way you want.
I think i've covered a fair bit, and overall, I love this phone.
33 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Huawei G300
Date:5 April, 2013
By Pat
from Tipperary
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:6-12 months
Phone loves to freeze when people ring. Works fine for internet and e-mail but does not work as a phone. Do not buy, I have spoken to a few people and they say the same. I have had many people tell me they rang me but I never answered, the phone shows no sign of a missed call. Worse still sometimes it rings and freezes without showing who is calling, this is only fixed by removing the battery. Seriously bad phone and absolutely no good especially if you are a job seeker and potential employers cannot contact you, as I have found out. DO NOT BUY
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Features
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Brilliant
Date:16 December, 2012
By Minty
from Dublin
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:5 months
The best value phone I have ever owned.
Pros: It runs heavy apps smoothly, the browser is excellent;it loads big webpages quickly and without lag, and the texting facility is second to none I have ever used before. It also has above average storage, endless amount of downloadable apps and content from the google play store. In addition it has a vivid high quality display, it a really nice size and weight and it looks fantastic.
Cons: Camera isnt the greatest, but good enough for twitter/Facebook uploads. Sound recording quality is quite abominable. The loudspeaker is awfully quiet. It is not easy to use in the sense that you could give it to your granny and let her off with it.
All in all, the Huawei Ascend G300 is the perfect entry level/intermediate smart phone for somebody who doesnt want to blow a big wad of cash on higher spec phones such as the iphone or the samsung galaxy S but still wants to enjoy all the fantasic benefits that android phones have to offer.
20 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
100% Satisfied
Date:29 December, 2012
By Dizy9
from Cork
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
I'm a tween girl and I bought the Huawei Ascend g300 just yesterday and I love it :) It's very sleek and stylish looking. My only issue was that it was grey. But I bought a really nice cover on ebay! The battery life isn't great, but that's coming from somebody who almost ALWAYS has wifi on and is surfing the web/ playing games + with apps. Anyway, battery isn't great, but charging it isn't really a problem. The camera has a flash for bad lighting which is really handy, and when you get a text message, there's a little green light in the corner to notify you (Say, if your phones on silent or something) and the phone has really good picture. I love the big screen so much as it makes things like texting and playing games slightly more convenient. I'd recommend the Huawei Ascend g300 to anyone.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Ease of use
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Size & weight
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Great...When It Works!!
Date:11 January, 2013
By Paul
from Bray
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:1 month
This phone is brilliant when working but unfortunately it is seriously unreliable.They say you get what you pay for, but the extra you dont pay is usually lost in reliability. The problems I experienced are 1. Restarting randomly 2. Freezing (sometime needing a restart to unfreeze) 3. Typing on the keyboard can be very frustrating and slow as it can take time to react. 4. The battery is pretty bad, even on low brightness, wifi off, no apps running, it can run out very fast and finally, the battery life indicator can mislead you showing half full but then saying you need to recharge an hour later. Overall, for the price the features are great but after only a month I am noticing some serious performance/reliability problems that are getting worse with time so prepare to be very frustrated!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Phone crashing and resetting.
Date:12 December, 2012
By Michael
from Shankill
Age:45-54
Owned this device for:3 months
This is a cheap phone so I dont expect good battery life, good build etc. but there is no excuse for the phone resetting randomly. I have the phone for 3 months not and yesterday it reset to factory defaults for the second time. Poor show.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Poor signal
Date:6 January, 2013
By MG
from Connacht
Age:25-34
Owned this device for:2 months
Was very happy with this phone until I discovered that it loses signal/coverage & goes into emergency calls only mode on a regular basis! This is not a problem with the coverage in my area as others in my house with the same company don't have the same problem ! It has also disconnected while I was on the phone without me changing location in the room! Overall, it is a good value phone but if you are buying it for work or could be expecting important calls, don't chance this phone!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Ease of use
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Features
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Completely Useless
Date:22 March, 2013
By Darwinian
from Galway
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
This phone is a waste of money. The signal went down to zero as soon as leaving an urban area. I couldn't even make a call. It also doesn't work with sure signal. It shouldn't be called a phone and doesn't deserve that 1 star
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Its Okay..
Date:25 December, 2012
By huaweiascend12334
from Donegal
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:4 months
I Got this phone in July and it is very unreliable.The battery could be 50% at night then in the morning it would be gone.Internet browsing and just general use of the phone is very slow,the main touch buttons are sometimes unresponsive.The camera has got good mp but the auto focus can make pictures easily blurry.
I have had to take it to the store often as the phone would not allow me to answer calls and kept switching off.I Wouldnt recomend this to a friend.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Good for the price
Date:9 December, 2012
By Barry
from Cavan
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:6-12 months
This is a pretty decent phone, but it has issues like anything else. The first problem I have is that sometimes the phone tends to lag and freeze whenever I'm doing multitasking which shouldn't be a problem nowadays with phones. Gaming is almost a no go as games like Angry Birds and Modern Combat lag. The battery life is terrible I would say about 18 hours before charging it again and make sure you don't forget to charge it everynight. Zooming inside a web browser is sluggish and not as fluent as the likes of an iPhone. The camera is nothing impressive either 5 Megapixels is the maximum resolution and also there is no front facing camera :/ I am sorry if I sound very negative about the phone but there are some good points. You have the power of Android which gives you the ability to customise everything about your phone from the way it looks and feels. The phone is one of the best looking handsets I've seen especially in this price range. I have a feeling most of the phones problems are because of the price they sell it at. Like they say you get what you pay for. I would recommend this phone to casual phone users not gamers, photographers or multitaskers
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Good
Date:18 September, 2012
By paddy ta mee
from Cavan
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:I don't own this phone
I think this is a good phone but when texting the keyboard is to small and when you go to type s for example you would get a or w. But that is a good idea that you can change the keyboard to the different format like a normal everyday phone. I like this phone and i hope to purchase one soon
8 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Reliability
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Meh
Date:28 March, 2013
By Barry
from Ulster
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:Over 12 months
This phone is great for those who just want to make calls and send texts.
For everything else it fails. Even texting can be a pain because the Messaging app crashes and as for multitasking, good luck it will lag. Gaming is a no no because 3D games like Temple Run lag. Coverage is very iffy I can never get 3G coverage so I have to resort to WiFi when at home. Some apps like Chrome and Modern Combat 4 aren't compatible. The web browser is slow and zooming in on objects is not as fluent as other phones.
I suggest buying another phone this one is not worth your money unless you're on a budget and need a decent Android powered phone
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Grand
Date:20 December, 2012
By Murraybaw
from Carrickmacross
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:3 months
Good but sometimes in freezes on me when I unlock the screen
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Battery life
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
terrible
Date:7 July, 2013
By TERRIBLE PHONE
from dublin
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:6-12 months
this is the worst phone i ever had. i had since christmass when i bought it for 150 euro. it was not worth the money. the top half of my screen stopped working and would not respond. it is very laggy and i will never buy a huawei phone again i now have the xperia j which is an amazing phone and would reccomend to anybody
Review 16 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Ease of use
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Update ruined it
Date:10 May, 2013
By Peter
from Carlow
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:6-12 months
When I bought this phone I was delighted with it. It was a great phone for the price but sadly it had an update to android 4.0 and now its useless its crashes at least once a day it has become so slow it irritates me to use it. Writing a simple text can now take too long as the phone will freeze. I am very disappointed with the update and I am probably going to have to buy a new phone because of it. I don't recommend anyone buy this phone and update it.
Review 17 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Ease of use
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Features
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Avoid if you've any sense!
Date:24 April, 2013
By Barry
from Dungarvan,Co.Waterford
Age:25-34
Owned this device for:5 months
At first when i bought this phone i was delighted and very excited to use it but i wasnt long finding out that it lags..it gets so slow that it freezes to the point that it must be restarted sometimes 3-4 times a days.typing a text can be a nightmare as sometimes it fails to type and again you need to restart to make any good out of it.the same applys for calls sometimes you go into contacts and press on who you would like to call and it just crashes out of the option..all in all avoid at all costs!!im sure theres plenty better phones out there cheaper than the €150 i got stung to pay for this rubbish!!!
Review 18 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Ease of use
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Reliability
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Dont buy it :L
Date:16 April, 2013
By henryireland123
from Mayo
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:6-12 months
Sorry but this is such a bad phone :( I don't like it but I have to stick with it. its basically is the same as the Smart II. Don't buy! I regret it soooo much :(
Review 19 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Best budget phone out there!
Date:9 March, 2013
By Oisin
from Cavan
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:6-12 months
I got this phone back in July, and ever since then I've really enjoyed using it. It runs Gingerbread out of the box, but there is an Ice Cream Sandwich (Android 4.0) update available that makes the phone run and look a lot better. While I did have a problem at the beginning, with the phone resetting itself, I was able to get a replacement from Vodafone. I highly recommend getting a case for the phone, as the screen can break pretty easily. Trust me, I've learned from experience.
It's able to run apps pretty well, but you won't be able to play some more power-consuming games without lag, which is obvious for a phone of this price. The camera is pretty good, but you're not going to get the same picture quality as an iPhone. Apps like Twitter and Facebook work well too.
All in all, this is a great value phone and the best option for someone isn't willing to splash out the cash.
Review 20 for Huawei Ascend G300
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent phone
Date:3 February, 2013
By Leanne
from Limerick
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:1 month
Love this phone to bits, the apps are outstanding. Battery life is great once you don't stay on the apps for too long. The camera has a brilliant picture off it.
1 2 next>>