Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Samsung Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini

Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
29 out of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
okay
Date:1 March, 2014
By becs
from waterford
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:3 months
when i got it for Christmas it was really good battery was excellent camera above average, but after about 2 months my phone started shutting down when i left it down .im not sure if it was the phone or the new app i downloaded,i would recommend it but i would just say be careful what apps you download :)
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Very good phone.
Date:2 January, 2014
By Laura
from Cork
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
Brilliant phone only complaints are it says 8gb memory but when you get it only 4gb is free and the battery. Cant even go one day without charging battery and thats when the power saver is on! battery is awful big let down but other than that brilliant phone well worth a shot!
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Strong for a smart phone!
Date:1 January, 2014
By Niamh7
from Kerry
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:1 month
I received this phone as a Christmas present recently. I am delighted with everything. All the features and even the battery is decent enough especially for a smart phone. The feature I find really handy is how you can see exactly what is using the most battery so you know what to use and don't use when running low. I will say I find the shape a bit awkward. Especially when taking photos.
I am extremely clumsy and always dropping my phone. This is a tough device. I still have yet to get so much as a scratch on it! As well as that I left it out over night (stevens night 2013 code red weather warning) by accident in a very non water proof bag and the phone despite being damp is still in perfect working order.
Even though it is not an iPhone I believe it may be better. All the exact same apps are available from the google play store. It is only a fraction of the cost at €149. The only difference I see is that it as no iMessage which is obvious as is't not an apple product.
Overall would highly recommend this product to people who are on every sort of social media and like to talk and text a lot and don't have the money to spend on an expensive device.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Memory issue
Date:25 December, 2013
By Daniel
from Mayo
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
When we go to detailed description of this phone we can see in specification that is has "Memory 8GB". Despite of it my phone has 4.55GB memory.
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great phone in good price
Date:10 December, 2013
By KayTecK
from Glin
Age:25-34
Owned this device for:1 month
Phone is pretty fast as for a budget phone.
Also display is pretty fine.
Camera is average. You cannot compere the photos with iPhone or full S3 or S4.
No problems with the phone so far.
No lug spot yet.
No battery draining so far.
There are just two things in it I do not like.
1. The body is a little bit slippery, so you should buy a good grip cover for it. Sooner or later it will land on the floor if you will not do it, and I do not think the body will survive it :).
2. 8gb of memory is very little (for my needs at least). Initially, user have an access to 4.5 gb, but after first updates to the applications pre-installed, you end up with 3.8 gb and there is no way of installing big games etc. as there is no legal way of moving aps to external SD, so I hope there will be an update to 4.4 Kitkat soon.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great phone for the Price
Date:28 November, 2013
By Adam
from Dublin
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:4 months
When this came out last year it got slammed because it cost over $300 and was not really what one would expect at that price. However for the current price it's a great phone.
1. Ease of use - Very good overall except for the awful method Samsung have for answering calls - you accidentally pull up the message reply and then cannot answer - I had to change the settings to allow the main button on the phone answer a call and it's ok now, but the default method is a pain.
2. Internet and Apps - very good - not as slick as an S4 or Iphone, but more than enough for me.
3. Camera - Stills very good - video good unless zoomed in and then you start to see the quality decrease,
4. Reliability - very good - I don't use a case and carry it in my pocket - several minor mishaps later no problems with the phone at all.
5. Price - I bought this 4 months ago for about $70 more than it's on sale now - It's annoying (for me) the price has come down but good for anyone buying a new phone.
16 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Great Phone
Date:23 November, 2013
By Katie
from Limerick
Age:Under 18
Owned this device for:I don't own this phone
My Dad got this phone for free because he is on bill pay his phone before this one was an old battered Nokia so he really needed a new one as i said his old phone was a battered Nokia so he is not very good with this one so he got me to do almost everything while i was using his phone for him i got to use most of the features and from what i saw it is a brilliant phone and i would recommend this phone to anyone
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This is an excellent phone!
Date:25 October, 2013
By Dave
from Dublin
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:5 months
I am so happy that I got this phone,
because it is an excellent phone.
Everything is good on this phone.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
fast, good and reliable.
Date:12 October, 2013
By Happy
from new ross
Age:25-34
Owned this device for:6-12 months
This phone is like a breath of fresh air to use. My other smart phones froze, , turned off by themselves and were really slow. But this phone is worth the buy. Delighted with it.
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
This is a great phone!!
Date:25 September, 2013
By Ed
from Dublin
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:2 months
I would recommend to everyone!
It so easy to use and it does more then any other phone I have every owned, even the more expensive phone.
The price is so low for what it can it can do. I will never buy an expensive again!!!
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Ease of use
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Features
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Battery life
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Very disappointing
Date:16 September, 2013
By Annie
from Dublin
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
This is my first touch screen phone and what a disappointing experience it's been so far. I was expecting it to be as easy to use as a iPad but wasn't willing to pay silly money for an iPhone. While the Samsung Mini Siii looks great it's a right pain to use, so much so that I'm hardly using it and I'm usually a frequent texter. It is in no way intuitive and the lack of information or a decent user manual that comes with the phone doesn't help either.
It doesn't seem to ring for nearly as long as my old phone with the result that I am missing phone calls as I can't get to the phone in time. The screen is far too small to comfortably read some websites. I used the camera on a night out recently and was shocked at how poor the picture quality was for a 5 megapixel camera. Maybe it's better in daylight but I was hoping it'd be a substitute for my camera. If in the next few weeks I don't grow to like my phone I'll have to revert to my battered but trusty old push button phone, so my recent purchase may have been a complete and utter waste of money.
1 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Ease of use
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Features
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Battery life
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Size & weight
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reliability
1 out of 5
( 1 out of 5 )
Date:6 August, 2013
By p44
from Mayo
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:1 month
I changed to bill pay and am I sorry. I hate this phone.
The battery life is rubbish and I seldom us facebook on it.
The last 3 days, no one can ring me or I could not send a txt. Have put it back in it's box and I have gone back to using my blackberry. Sorry I ever changed.
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
exellent
Date:1 July, 2013
By alice
from limerick
Age:25-34
Owned this device for:4 months
phone is really god. i dropped 2 times and still is ok no broken scren. i will recomended this phon for 100% .i had nokia lumia 800 before but this one is better
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ace phone
Date:30 June, 2013
By storm
from dundalk
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:5 months
Absolutely brilliant phone. Very easy to you. Great battery if you reduce the brightness reduction on the screen. The most I got out of the battery use before I needed to charge it was 3 days before I needed to charge it.
Would recommend this phone to any one. Storage and memory is great. Who needs a camera? When the camera on the phone does exactly the same job and picture quality is great even printing out the photo's too!!!!
47 of 47 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
S3 mini
Date:3 May, 2013
By Snaff 20
from Drogheda
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
Have had the s 3 for over a year which is a brilliant phone faultless. Just bought the s3 mini for my wife as her old one is ancient . Can't get over how good this phone is , it is on a parr with its bigger brother ,does exactly what it does and feels great in your hand . Camera is excellent screen is very fast . If they bring out an s4 mini I would check it before its big brother if it is made . Well done samsung the apple is a bit rotten !!!
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
best
Date:30 April, 2013
By Kinga
from Swords
Age:25-34
Owned this device for:4 months
very good camera, easy to use, fits in any pocket, the internet works quickly, with nice visuals, a revelation to me, I'm fascinated by Samsung
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
3 out of 5
( 3 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Great phone for everyone!!!!
Date:14 April, 2013
By Great phone !!!
from Wexford
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:5 months
Perfect phone for good price!!! But battery life could be a bit longer. I am very happy with this Samsung, perfect navigation and WIFI.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Love it!!!!
Date:5 March, 2013
By PaulMul
from Limerick
Age:25-34
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
I got this phone as my first bill pay phone.
I wanted the Samsung Galaxy S3 but it was way too big.
When the mini came out I jumped at the chance to get it.
I love this phone. Its easy to use, the screen is unbelievably clear, the battery lasts a good bit. Obviously if your constantly on the internet or playing games with it the battery life reduces massively, but sure thats the same with any smartphone.
The 1GB Dual Core is more than enough.
This is my first Samsung, and I cant see myself switching to any other Brand after this.
Paul, Limerick
27 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Ease of use
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Size & weight
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Reliability
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Excellent little phone
Date:4 March, 2013
By Bee
from Kerry
Age:19-24
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
It's a beautiful looking phone! I've got average sized hands for a girl and I can use it one-handed with relative ease. The Swype keyboard function is invaluable, my previous phone was a Sony W595 (ie: buttons and predictive text) and before I realised that swype was incredibly accurate and intuitive I was trying to type manually which led to a lot of errors and frustration.
The 5mpx camera is wonderful. The flash is a nice addition and would be perfect for nights out. If you have a steady hand you should be fine going flash-free the majority of the time! Using the camera one handed is a bit tricky, it can involve some contortion and I'm used to having a physical camera button. You can tap the screen to focus or it will do it automatically when you take the photo. it struggles with macro/very close objects. My brother has the SIII and when he saw the quality of photos on mine he thought it was 8mpx like his own, though this is probably helped by the smaller display. The front facing camera is VGA and comparable to early Noughtie's webcams, but it's presence alone is appreciated for the likes of Skype and video calling.
The display itself is great, the colours are saturated, vivid and even with the brightness set to it's lowest the screen is perfectly usable in sunlight. It's not the highest resolution display, you can certainly spot pixels from a moderate distance but it's subtle and in no way noticeable enough to be a deterrent. The touchscreen is responsive and the glass itself is silky smooth and lovely! I did notice while playing games that sometimes it didn't register when I pressed close to the edges, but this has only been with games so it may be the app's fault.
The battery life has so far been unbelievably good. When I got the phone in the morning mail, it had 38% battery and this lasted me until 11pm that night under relatively heavy usage. Admittedly, like I said earlier in the review I keep the Screen Brightness low. Also when not in use I switch the wifi off. For example of battery life, I charged my phone yesterday evening. That night, I played some games, left it on standby while I slept. Today I've regularly used 4 different social networking apps, played games and taken countless pictures: My battery is at 60% (after 25 hours use, according to the phone).
This phone is worth every cent of what I paid for it, which was €100 less than every other network provider. I'd recommend this handset very highly, I haven't been disappointed by it yet.
97 of 100 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy S3 Mini
Overall
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Ease of use
5 out of 5
( 5 out of 5 )
Features
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Battery life
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Size & weight
4 out of 5
( 4 out of 5 )
Reliability
2 out of 5
( 2 out of 5 )
Wifi problems?
Date:4 March, 2013
By mn
from Glasnevinq
Age:35-44
Owned this device for:Less than 1 month
This phone is a great upgrade from the Samsung Galaxy Ace, however I am disappointed so far with WiFi connectivity issues. I even downloaded a Wifi Analyzer app to troubleshoot wifi signals. Every other device we have tried to connect to our wifi is fine, but this new phone will not authenticate even though the signal is strong, it gives a message about "poor signal".
I know that if I bring this back to the retailer, they will ship the original phone for repairs and I will be left without my phone and personalisations while it takes ages to be fixed. IMHO, the advertising says it is a phone with wifi, and it should work out of the box or I should get a new one that does.
Other features of phone are great. It is a pity that WiFi has issues and is unreliable. I've just had a baby and need my phone for errands and it keeps me connected to the wider world. I don't need this! Buyer beware.
1 of 16 found this review helpful.